Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As you undoubtedly know we went to the ProRollerDerby Invitational in Phoenix a while ago. (If you don’t we had a lot of fun) While there we got to see some RAD skating, but someone stuck out. I had an affinity for her Diablo skates as I just retired mine to outdoor use, then she started playing. She is a lot of derby in a little package. She is our May skater of the month!!

Nehi Nightmare 4’8″ from Grave Danger, Rat City!

Rat City Roller Girls is a flat track league in Seattle, WA. Grave Danger is one of their 4 home teams. Recently Grave Danger has started playing banked track including the Phoenix Invitational.

Enough from me, lets move on to hear what Nehi has to say for herself.

PDA) How long have you been playing roller derby?

Nehi Nightmare) good question, I tried out three times for Rat City and on the third one I was placed on the Rat lab which is a training program that started in 2011 and I haven’t stopped so all in all  two years but with GD since Sept @2011

PDA) What league(s) are you/have you been affiliated with?
NN) I have only been with Rat City’s home team Grave Danger. I never wanted anything else I got the league I wanted and the team I wanted. 
PDA)How did you discover roller derby?
NN)as a little girl (younger and tinier than I am now) I watched it on tv in california and wanted to do it. I told my mom and she just gave me a look and told me I would die doing it. 
PDA) What was your family and friends reaction to you playing roller derby?
NN)My mom was scared, my dad laughed and was really encouraging. my sister well she was super excited for me. My husband was the one that pushed me and told me to get over my fears and well my kids were super stoked even though they didn’t really understand the sport at the time
PDA)Who is a skater that you admire?
NN)I admire all skaters. it takes a lot to do this sport the dedication and time is hard for anyone. there are three skaters that stand out to me…that would be Carmen Getsome, Shorty Ounce and The Reanimateher, there skills, their motivation, their drive its a beautiful thing
PDA)How did you select your derby name and number?
NN)that was a hard process well the name was I wanted to be Nehi Ninja but that was taken so I sat for a few weeks marinating on some ideas and came up with Nehi Nightmare because I truly am a nightmare on your knees. My number was a simple thing being on the Rat Lab I had to pick a number that wasn’t taken #48 came up and I was super happy because I am 4’8”. I get asked the question of how tall I am all the time what better way not to be asked constantly but by putting it on your back and having it announced real loud.

PDA)When not derbying it up what do you do for a profession (companies can
remain anonymous)?

NN)I am a hiring coordinator and manager at a popular grocery chain

PDA)What are your non-derby hobbies/activities/hidden talents?
NN)I love anything outdoors(softball,hiking,lounging) I have three kids so they keep me really busy and I do anything really that they want to do since they let me go do what makes me happy (derby). Hidden talents(hahaha) I use to break dance, I have danced all my life and can really get down if need be LMAO
PDA)What is something you are super embarrassed about your teenage years?
NN)that was all just embarrassing. boys didn’t like me because I was one of the guys and I think being super short wasn’t attractive.
PDA)Do you have Tattoos? If so what, where, and why?
NN)I have some tattoos I have a martini glass on my foot that two of my best friends in the world have also, we met bartending and we thought it was a perfect symbol of our friendship. I have a tramp stamp (classy I know) of a butterfly that I got right after I had my daughter to represent beauty and freedom. then there is a zombie chick on my right side of my rib cage, I have two sparrows one alive on my right wrist and then a dead one on my left wrist and when I put my hands together it represents the circle of life. cherry blossom tree on my left shoulder it has four flowers on the tree to represent my family and how they will never leave me and then falling petals and flowers to represent how others come and go….there are others but I am getting a new one a fighting rooster on my left thigh I was born in the year of the cock so I thought it would be good and now I can just say “i have a bigger cock than yours”
PDA)What is your favorite movie (top 5 if you can’t choose)?
NN)wow that’s tough but I love “the neverending story” it has always been my favorite and since I can choose five all of the Nightmare on Elm street movies I freaking loved those as a kid couldn’t get enough of them
PDA) What advice or words of wisdom do you have for other women that may want to play roller derby but feel like something is stopping them?
NN)IF IT IS SOMETHING YOU WANT NEVER QUESTION IT. FOLLOW YOUR HEART AND LIVE A LITTLE. HAVE NO FEAR OF WHAT MAY OR MAY NOT HAPPEN ON THAT TRACK, NEVER QUESTION IF YOUR GOOD ENOUGH NEVER DOUBT YOUR SKILLS. NONE OF US WHO SKATE NOW WERE PERFECT WHEN WE FIRST TOOK THE TRACK NOR ARE WE PERFECT NOW. JUST TRY IT AT LEAST ONCE AND THEN MAKE YOUR DECISION!!
PDA)What article of clothing could you wear every day?
NN)UHMMMM…..YOGA PANTS THERE SO COMFY
PDA)What is your favorite type of accessory to wear?
NN)i wear a specific necklace everyday no matter what and I love wearing bandannas there my fav
PDA)What is the most comfortable thing to wear during a bout for you?
NN)I have to have my bandanna its like a security blanket
PDA) Any last words or anything you want to say?
NN)thanks for noticing me and honoring me with skater of the month. when I started this wild adventure of derby I never thought I would even make it this far or even have people know my name. thanks for all the support 🙂
Over all the entire Grave Danger team was full of super nice, kick ass women. Every one of them who came to our booth was a pleasure to talk to and the ones that went to the after party were a blast! Maybe it helped that they have uniforms covered in blood and a shirt that helped me look like my head was cut off. I’m into that stuff, but they have been one of my favorite teams to watch.

blllleeeeeehhhhh

Captain Hook’er

